Skip To Main Content

Celebrating Peter A. Barrett’s Tenure at St. Patrick’s


A Service in Celebration

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Washington National Cathedral

5:30 PM 

Join us for a joyful service in celebration of the years of
dedicated teaching, leadership and service
of  Peter A. Barrett, Head of School,
St. Patrick’s Episcopal Day School



A Lasting Legacy

Celebrating Peter A. Barrett

Thursday, May 19, 2022

St. Patrick’s Episcopal Day School
Gymnasium and Performance Center

6:00 PM 

We welcome our adult community and friends of the school to
join us for this fundraising gala event 
in support of
the Sustaining Excellence Fund established in Peter's honor

ticketed event - sponsorships are available

Honoring Peter’s Legacy


Sustaining Excellence: The Peter A. Barrett Fund for Access and Inclusion

 An endowed fund was established by the Board of Trustees in 2021 to honor Peter A. Barrett’s 28 years as Head of School and his lasting legacy of placing students at the heart of teaching and learning at St. Patrick’s. Peter’s mission-focused emphasis on the importance of a diverse and inclusive school community guided the creation of this Fund to provide financial aid to students and strengthen the long-term financial sustainability of the Day School. The Fund honors Peter, who served as Head of School from 1994 to 2022, and his conviction that enrolling students from a broad range of socioeconomic circumstances helps ensure the excellence of a St. Patrick’s education for all students.

 For more information or to make a gift in honor of Peter, please contact Suzanne Burrows, Assistant Head of School for Development,
at 202-342-7005 or

Peter A. Barrett Celebration Committee

Co-Chair:  Blair Giannini

Co-Chair: Jill Wiley White

Committee Members: 

Lee Arrowood, Nancy Balboa, Kit Ballenger, Judy Bishop, Nita Blundon, Katherine Bradley, Peter Burnes, Brooke Carnot, Peter and Teresa Clare, April McClain-Delaney and John Delaney, Michael DeSantis, Sara Dickson, Tiane Doman, Kim Dreux Sullivan, Nicole Fischer, Tama Francis, Melanie Gilbert, Yardly and Burton Gray, Mae Grennan, Mary Haft, Joyce Hunter, Carolyn Johnson, Michelle Joubran, Elizabeth Keffer, Jane Korhonen, Tom and Kathi Loughlin, Katherine Lucas, Kelly Lugar, Ned and Betsy Mandel, Carolyn Mansfield, April McClain-Delaney, Kelly and Kevin McShane, Roz Moore, Manar Morales, Ed and Virginia Murphy, Dee Dee Myers, Carmen Perkins, Randy Phelps, Keith Powell, Alison Reynolds, Patrick Steel, Aleta Williams, Margot Wilson, Tammy Wincup, Merel Young


A Letter to the Chair of the Board of Trustees

For more than a quarter of a century, I have had the best job in Washington. Since 1994, I have had the privilege of sharing work that I love with an amazing group of young people, their wonderfully supportive families, and a faculty and staff that couldn’t be more talented or dedicated to their craft.

Read Full Story about A Letter to the Chair of the Board of Trustees
An Announcement from the Chair of the Board of Trustees on the Retirement of Head of School Peter A. Barrett

First, I want to thank Peter for his letter, indicating that he has decided to retire from St. Patrick’s at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.  As current Chair of the Board of Trustees, I am one of 11 people to have worked closely with Peter in that role and have a front-row seat to his thoughtful leadership. Peter’s name has become synonymous with St. Patrick’s Episcopal Day School across his 27 years of service. I look forward to many moments celebrating Peter’s distinguished tenure during the next year and a half, but please allow this letter to serve as a first step in that process. 

Read Full Story about An Announcement from the Chair of the Board of Trustees on the Retirement of Head of School Peter A. Barrett