Skip To Main Content

Head of School Appointment


On August 16, 2021, the Board of Trustees announced the appointment of Jalene Spain Thomas as the fourth Head of School at St. Patrick's Episcopal Day School, effective July 1, 2022, following a robust national search.

On December 14, 2020, Head of School Peter A. Barrett and Board Chair Mia Bass announced the plan for Peter's retirement at the end of the 2021-2022 school year.

Unanimously recommended by the Search Committee, Jalene received the enthusiastic, unanimous support of the Board of Trustees and, in turn, the Vestry of St. Patrick's Parish, which ratified the appointment. The current Director of Lower School at St. Stephen's and St. Agnes School in Alexandria, Virginia, Jalene is a gifted, seasoned educator with a two-decade career in Washington-area Episcopal schools.

We are grateful to the Search Committee, co-chaired by Trustees Mashea Ashton P '25 and Rebecca Kim P '24, for their work during this demanding—and ultimately resoundingly successful—process.


Head of School Search Committee Updates

Letters to the Community

An Announcement from the Head of School and the Chair of the Board of Trustees

Formation of Head of School Search Committee


Head of School Search Committee Members

December 2020

Mashea Ashton
Trustee and Search Committee Co-Chair, P ‘25

Rebecca Kim
Trustee and Search Committee Co-Chair, Parishioner, P ‘24

Mia Bass
Chair, Board of Trustees, Parishioner, P ‘25, ‘29

Jamila Felton
Day School Librarian

Kurt Gerhard
Rector, St. Patrick’s Parish

Fenner Gibson
Middle School Humanities Teacher, W ‘03

Katherine Lucas
Secretary, Board of Trustees, P ‘20, ‘29 

Kai Reynolds
Immediate Past Board Chair, P ‘17, ‘21, ‘23

David Roberts
Treasurer, Board of Trustees, Parishioner, P  W ‘16, ‘21, ‘25

Joneis Thomas
Trustee, P ‘21, ‘23

Erica Thompson
Assistant Head of School for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion 

Nancy White Vice Chair, 
Board of Trustees, Former Head of Nursery School, Parishioner